MESA

About MESA

Study Organization

Overview
Participating Institutions
Scientific Personnel
Committees
Monitoring Board
Confidentiality

Researchers

Overview
Schedule
Protocol
Background
Objectives
Research Questions
Eligibility
Study Population
Participation Rate
Measurements
Examinations
Follow-Up
Manuals

Collaboration

We have found in many situations that a collaborative approach to research is advantageous to affiliated and non-affiliated investigators alike. Those who include MESA Investigators in their research are able to take advantage of their considerable knowledge of the MESA dataset as well as knowledge of research and analytic methodologies appropriate for the data. In keeping with this collaborative approach, researchers interested in working with MESA Investigators are welcome to submit a manuscript proposal or ancillary study proposal directly to the study. Please feel free to review additional materials related to establishing a collaborative relationship with MESA at the following links (or send an e-mail to the Coordinating Center at chsccweb@u.washington.edu).

http://www.mesa-nhlbi.org/Publications.aspx
http://www.mesa-nhlbi.org/ancillary.aspx

Specific Analytic Opportunities

After careful review of the MESA publication record, the following list of analytic opportunities were identified as general topics where the data have not yet been adequately explored or published. There may be manuscripts in development, so it is strongly recommended that researchers with interest in collaborating on a research topic contact the point person directly (or the Coordinating Center at chsccweb@u.washington.edu) to initiate discussion and explore collaborative opportunities.


Research Area Point Person
Adaptive Immune System Russ Tracy (Russell.Tracy@uvm.edu)
Atrial Fibrillation Susan Heckbert (heckbert@u.washington.edu)
Bioelectric Impedance Dick Kronmal (kronmal@uw.edu)
Coagulation Mary Cushman (mary.cushman@med.uvm.edu)
Cognitive Function Annette Fitzpatrick (fitzpal@u.washington.edu)
Diabetes Alain Bertoni (abertoni@wakehealth.edu)
ECG Changes Elsayed Soliman (esoliman@wakehealth.edu)
Genetic ancestry Jasmin Divers (jdivers@wakehealth.edu)
Genetic Epi & Gene X Environ Int Jerome Rotter (jrotter@labiomed.org)
Health Services Research Chris Delaney (jacd@u.washington.edu)
Heart Failure David Bluemke (bluemked@nih.gov)
Lipid Subclasses Rachel Mackey (mackey@edc.pitt.edu)
Lipoprotein A [Lp(a)] Mike Tsai (tsaix001@umn.edu)
Longitudinal data Robyn McClelland (rmcclell@uw.edu)
Organ and System Fibrosis Russ Tracy (Russell.Tracy@uvm.edu)
Policy and Prevention Gregory L. Burke (gburke@wakehealth.edu)
Race/Ethnicity and Events Wendy Post (wpost@jhmi.edu)
Stroke Clinical Events Will Longstreth (wl@uw.edu)

MESA Documents

Additional information about MESA can be found in the following documents: